Extracurriculars

list of Clubs & Activities 2016-2017

ACADEMIC DECATHLON

Students study topics and prepare to answer in a ten subject scholastic competition. Subjects covered include Math, Science, Literature, History, Art, Music, and Economics. This year’s theme: World War II. Contact Mr. Sheehan at bsheehan@pittsfield.net

ART CLUB:

Contact Ms. Ostellino at lostellino@pittsfield.net

BAND DIRECTOR:

Contact Mr. Lively at rlively@pittsfield.net

BEST BUDDIES:

Contact Mr. Eddy at teddy@pittsfield.net or Ms. Richman at lrichman@pittsfield.net

BOOK CLUB:

Contact Ms. O’Hagerty-Duffy at kohagertyduffy@pittsfield.net

CHEERLEADERS:

Contact Ms. Boire at shavelleboire@gmail.com

CHESS CLUB:

Contact Ms. Small at psmall@pittsfield.net

COLORGUARD:

Contact Ms. Boire at shavelleboire@gmail.com

COMPUTER CLUB:

To be determined.

DUNGEONS & DRAGONS CLUB:

Open to new & experienced players. Initial meetings will focus on character development & introduction to the game and rules. Following meetings will be spent on playing adventures based on existing or member developed campaigns. Dungeons and Dragons is a great way to meet new people, share new adventures, and expand your world at PHS! The core of Dungeons and Dragons is storytelling. You & your friends tell a story together, guiding your heroes through quests for treasure, battles with deadly foes, daring rescues, courtly intrigue, and much more. Come join Dungeons and Dragons and escape for a while in a world of infinite adventure. Weekly meeting dates to be announced. Contact Mr. Kelley at bkelley@pittsfield.net

DRAMA SOCIETY:

Contact Mr. Monteverde at jmonteverde@pittsfield.net

ENVIRONMENTAL CLUB:

Students foster some sense of stewardship of our environment. That has led to river cleanups, hikes, roadside cleanups, political action, composting and a general sustainable living mindset. We've been involved in the pipeline controversy, explored solar panels for municipal buildings and recycling initiatives. We would like to increase the outings like canoe trips, snowshoeing, gardening and the like. After school brief meetings once or twice a month should be the norm with 4 to 5 outings a year. Contact Mr. Lacatell at jlacatell@pittsfield.net or Mrs. Ziemba at kziemba@pittsfield.net

FINANCIAL ADVISOR TO YEARBOOK:

Contact Ms. Kenney at bkenney@pittsfield.net

FRENCH CLUB:

Students will meet every other Tuesday after school in room 334. Club members will determine their activities, although they are encouraged to:

· Practice their French to talk about their day;
· Discover French music, movies & literature;
· Research about French history, culture or places;
· Play French games;
· Plan, prepare & enjoy French meals;

Interested students can contact Mr. Marshall at hmarshall@pittsfield.net or (413) 242-6404. (Francophone and not) are encouraged to support the club by sharing in our conversations or helping coordinate field trips, meals or other activities.

FRESHMAN CLASS ADVISOR:

Contact Ms. Quinn at cquinn@pittsfield.net or Ms. Kenney at bkenney@pittsfield.net.

GAY STRAIGHT ALLIANCE:

Contact Mr. Collingsworth at scollingsworth@pittsfield.net

ITALIAN CLUB:

Contact Mr. Coppola at gcoppola@pittsfield.net

JUNIOR CLASS ADVISORS:

Contact Mr. Chandler at pchanlder@pittsfield.net or Mrs. Biagini-Valenti at dbiaginivalenti@pittsfield.net

LATIN CLUB:

· Produce artwork and do projects based on the classical world.

· Prepare for Latin competitions against other schools.

· Begin study in Ancient Greek.

Contact Mr. Barresi at jbarresi@pittsfield.net

MATH CLUB:

Students delve into different types of math that they might not get to see in the regular high school classroom. If members find topics in math that they want to learn about, we can discuss them. It also gives students the opportunity to interact with math teachers that they may not have in their high school careers and learn more about what those teachers find interesting in math. Meet every other week on Thursdays. Contact Ms. Lindquist at alindquist@pittsfield.net

MEAA CHORUS:

Contact Ms. Palmer at gpalmer@pittsfield.net

MOCK TRIAL ORIENTATION:

Contact Ms. Esko at mesko@pittsfield.net

NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY:

Contact Mr. Whateley at bwhateley@pittsfield.net or Ms. Esko at mesko@pittsfield.net 

NEWSPAPER IN GENERAL:

Contact Ms. Brown at kebrown@pittsfield.net

ORCHESTRA:

Contact Ms. Zernitskaya at azernitskaya@pittsfield.net

PEACE JAM:

Contact Mrs. Ziemba at kziemba@pittsfield.net

PEP CLUB:

Contact Ms. Quinn at cquinn@pittsfield.net

PHOTO CLUB:

Contact Ms. Quinn at cquinn@pittsfield.net

QUIZ TEAM:

Contact Mr. Barsanti at rbarsanti@pittsfield.net

RC HELICOPTER CLUB:

Contact Mr. Lively at rlively@pittsfield.net

SADD:

Contact Ms. Shepard at cshepard@pittsfield.net or Mrs. Charles at acharles@pittsfield.net

SCIENCE CLUB:

Contact Mr. Wiechecki at dwiechecki@pittsfield.net or Mrs. Biagini-Valenti at dbiaginivalenti@pittsfield.net

SENIOR CLASS ADVISORS:

Contact Ms. Quinn at cquinn@pittsfield.net or Mr. Eddy at teddy@pittsfield.net

SKILLS USA:

For vocational students only. Meeting once a week TBD.

Contact Mrs. Ray at sray@pittsfield.net or Mr. Renton at trenton@pittsfield.net

SOPHOMORE CLASS ADVISORS:

Contact Mrs. Ostellino at lostellino@pittsfield.net or Ms. O’Hagerty-Duffy at kohagertyduffy@pittsfield.net

SPANISH CLUB:

Do you like Spanish? Do you like speaking Spanish? Do yo u like learning about other cultures? Do you want help with your Spanish homework? If so, please feel free to join us for Spanish Club. Contact Mrs. Vasquez at mvasquez@pittsfield.net

STUDENT GOVERNMENT:

Contact Ms. Barry at jbarry@pittsfield.net or Mr. Sheehan at msheehan@pittsfield.net

TECHNOLOGY CLUB:

Contact Mr. Adams at gadams@pittsfield.net

YEARBOOK:

Contact Ms. Quinn at cquinn@pittsfield.net

Copyright © 2012-2018 Pittsfield Public Schools